So out of the blue the display stopped working on my 15″ Macbook Pro. The computer would come out of sleep, but no display, nothing. Total blackness. I was also unable to get anything on the external display as well. After a bit of research everyone seemed to agree (from what I’d read) that it was the logic board, and that since it was out of warranty it would cost a pretty penny. I decided to try my luck and give Apple Care a call. To their credit, they at least talked to me even though I was out of warranty. Their “fix” was for me to go into the nearest Apple store and get service there. I was also quoted at $1100 for a new display. Now, I also explained the entire situation (computer is on, can get to it in target mode, just no displays), and he felt it was a motherboard problem. That made no sense to me.

I gave up for a bit to get some work done, and then late in the evening I decided to look on the net one more time. Lo and behold something interesting appeared. Evidently this nVidia thing where you get a black screen after waking up from sleep is common. So common that they are reimbursing any repairs that involved the nVidia cards on these MacBooks.  

So I printed that out and took it with me to the “Genius” bar. It must be common because they had a special device to check for the nVidia failure. And there it was… So the repair is free, but I’m out the laptop for 10 days+. The plus being related to something strange. We were all finished when the “genius” asked me for my username and password “So they can do tests and stuff”. Well, there was no way that I was giving my username and password out, and that was pretty much the only admin account on there. Since I had just made a backup with Super Duper I had them wipe the drive, but I thought the whole thing was bizarre. Can’t they do the tests from a disk in single user mode?

At any rate, I’m happy that it’s a free repair, but confused why the Apple Care guy didn’t at least acknowledge that this could be the problem, and why they needed my username and password. 

Well, it’s good to purge once in a while I suppose…

