Well,

I broke down and jailbroke my phone last night. Partially it was just to try it, but also because I was getting sick of the subpar 3rd party apps that were inundating the App Store. After following the instructions via Lifehacker to install Cydia, I was able to install OpenSSH as well as other cool things, like Python.

Then I saw that you could install iPython on the iPhone so I thought, let’s try it.

So hard was it? With the python package installed it was

easy_install ipython

Seriously.

To lay it out in terms of steps…

1. Install Cydia (The only caveat here is that I got a different SHASUM when I checked the pwnage tool from the macgeekblog site, I then redownloaded from the pwnage mirrors)
2. Follow the instructions to get openSSH up and running.
3. Go into Cydia and under “sections” got to “scripting”. There they have Python (among others).
4. I also installed a terminal
5. Now you can either go in through the terminal on the iPhone(touch) or SSH in from a differnet computer. Either way, su to root and then you can
6. easy_install ipython

Next of course would be to install Numpy and do folding at home (I’m kidding!), but this just shows some serious possibilities.

Did I also mention that I installed the NES frontend which can use all the public domain ROMs that are out there? Someone mentioned ROM world and The Old Computer but I haven’t checked them out yet.

Cool stuff.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags:

