A funny thing happened on the way to forum. I fired up my virtual XP machine yesterday for the first time in a while, and I was prompted to upgrade to build 5608. OK. No problem. So I hit update, downloaded the 88 MB dmg package and waited for it to upgrade. Nothing. Bupkiss. Actually, Parallels just hung, bad. I had to force quit it and try to open the dmg package. No dice, the file was corrupt. I seemed to remember this happening the last time that I went for an automatic updare so I manually downloaded 5608, opened the dmg package and installed the update.

Then the fun began. Not only did Parallels hang when I tried to start the virtual machine, I got the grey screen of death! “YOU MUST REBOOT YOUR COMPUTER NOW!” Crap.

Well, looking up the problem in the “Knowledge base” I found that “Errors occur when you try to install or update Parallels Desktop, create or open virtual machines, load the required drivers to the guest OS” The handy solution? Reboot. Repair disk permissions. Reinstall. Why? Because evidently “Working in Mac OS for long periods of time without restart may lead to some minor glitches to appear in the system as a whole.”

Yup, feels like XP!

Blogged with the Flock Browser
