As I alluded to in a previous post, the main reason for getting WinBUGS to run on the Mac was to be able to run WinBUGS through R using the R2WinBUGS R package.

Once I got DarWine up and running it was really only a matter of fixing some variables in the R2WinBUGS call of my model.

While written in Japanese, this guide had enough information to get me started down the path (no pun intended).

One of the main things that you have to do is to define WINEPATH and WINE in the call, which are of course buried a bit in OS X

bug.out <- bugs(…,
useWINE=TRUE,
WINEPATH = “/Applications/Darwine/Wine.bundle/Contents/bin/winepath”,
WINE = “/Applications/Darwine/Wine.bundle/Contents/bin/wine”…)

It works, but as of now it ain’t pretty. I also am not seeing faster model runs than when I use a virtual machine in Parallels, so I may need to test this further.

Technorati Tags:
, ,

