Lately I have been playing around a bit with Sidux, which is a project attempting to make Debian unstable (Sid) stable! Download and installation were a breeze, with plenty of apps installed from a 700 MB live CD. So far no showstopping crashes (although my password didn’t take for my user account, so I had to drop to terminal with Ctrl-Alt-F1, log in as root, passwd <username> then Ctrl-Alt-F7 to get back in).

The main things that I wanted to see working were:

Play a CD
Rip CD tracks to MP3
Browse the Internet
Read mail
Open Office Documents
Install GMT (The Generic Mapping Tools)
Install Matlab
Mount/Unmount a Flash drive

By default the KDE artwork and multimedia packages are not installed (to keep it to one CD) so those were the first two things I downloaded to get screensavers and KAudiocreator. Lame was not installed, but downloading the tarball and typing:
tar -jxvf lame-3.97.tar.bz2
cd lame-3.97
./configure (as su)
./make (as su)
./make install (as su)
was all it took to install lame and make Kaudiocreator happy!

I’m sure with time more things will arise but for now I am very impressed with this distro! The black/red theme with some really nice default artwork putting icing on the cake here.

http://www.sidux.com

