I’ll hopefully fill this in more later but from a recommendation from Jimbo at UNJX I decided to try installing the server edition of Edgy Eft on my Gateway 500 Mhz monster with 384 MB of RAM and an old ATI Radeon 8500 AIW. Installation of the server was simple as I had already made the partitions as outlined in Creating a Custom Partition Setup for a Linux Install. I reformatted and set mount points for all the partitions except for the /home partition where I just set a mount point.

Installation was a breeze and super fast. It took about 30 minutes on this archaic beast! I then ran
sudo aptitude upgrade

to, uh, upgrade, and then took a chance with the XFCE desktop by running

sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop

to get xfce since I did want a window manager (the server edition defaults to command line only) and didn’t want to run gnome or the wonderful but heavy duty KDE. I had the same problem that I have had with many recent install of Ubuntu with the monitor refresh rates being set too high (monitor is set to Dell P1130 specs at 1280×1024@85Mhz) and the monitor freaking out and shutting itself off with an error message. I rebooted and hit alt-f1 to get to a command line and then hand edited the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file adding the lines

HorizSync 30-80
VertRefresh 50-75

which is below specs but seems to work. Only LAMP and Bind were installed extra in the server edition so I fired up the package manager and got openssh and proftpd for SSH and FTP respectively. Both of those were automatically configured and worked after install. I then changed the networking from DHCP to static using the instructions again in the Hot-To forge guide “The Perfect Setup – Ubuntu 6.10 Server (Edgy Eft)”. Network was good after restarting so then I was set!

One other thing was that I have Dynamic DNS setup here through http://www.dyndns.org. To skip having to manually update my IP I stole a script off the Ubuntu how to guide for automatically updating the IP. I ran

apt-get install ipcheck

and then opened up the file /etc/ppp/ip-up.d/dyndns-update.sh and entered

#!/bin/sh

USERNAME=<username>
PASSWORD=<password>
HOSTNAME=example.homelinux.com

cd /root/
if [ -f /root/ipcheck.dat ]; then
ipcheck -r checkip.dyndns.org:8245 $USERNAME $PASSWORD $HOSTNAME
else
ipcheck –makedat -r checkip.dyndns.org:8245 $USERNAME $PASSWORD $HOSTNAME
fi

I then put a script updateip.sh in /etc/cron.hourly that has the line

sh /etc/ppp/ip-up.d/dyndns_update.sh > /home//cron_jobs/updateip.log &2>1

and I was set.

The main problem left was to add a few things to the Spartan Living arrangements setup by Xubuntu! I swapped out the main panels top and bottom, roughly following the Zenwalk XCFE layout. More to come as I play with my new setup…

