A little while back I thought that I would get fancy with Windows XP and installed the World of Warcraft theme. Basically this theme customized the entire desktop, replacing the entire interface (skinning it). It was horrible. After about 20 minutes I decided that I didn’t like this new theme and decided to change it back. Most of it went back to normal except that the folder icons remained the WoW-based backpacks that I couldn’t stand… So the question was: How can I change them back to normal old boring XP-based folder icons?

I knew that the icons were all in the file $windows/shell32.dll, but also knew that I couldn’t just overwrite that file since Windows would cry like a little girl if I tried it. I had all but given up when out of the blue I decided to install the Power Toy Tweak UI. In this tool (which adds a TON of UI customizations options) there is a repair option. In it I found that I could rebuild the icons. So I did, and my fugly traveler’s backpacks were now back to normal, boring XP folders. Huzzah!

